some profiles of my favourite aircraft to fly: the Ki-27

Public Forum. All are welcome

Moderators: Tiger, Space

Colslaw
Lt. Colonel
Lt. Colonel

some profiles of my favourite aircraft to fly: the Ki-27

Unread post by Colslaw »

Here are a few of the 30+ profiles of Nates I have done in the last month. I'm thinking about producing a book or CD about JAAF markings in a similar style to the WWI CD I have been doing for the last 8 years. There are just so many cool markings for these things

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Nakajima KI-27 Otsu in Profile

The Nakajima Ki-27, known to the Allies as "Nate", was a low wing monoplane with a fixed undercarriage and was renowned for its exceptional maneuverability. It is also famous for its service in China and Manchuria and for being one of the first opponents of the AVG - the American Volunteer Group, aka the Flying Tigers.

Imperial Japanese Army markings can be broken down to show the flight, squadron and group that the aircraft belonged to based on the various symbols, stripes and bands an aircraft wore.

- Sentai (Group) marking was usually worn on the fin/rudder
- Chutai (company or squadron) was shown by the colour of the Sentai emblem and also by the colour of the fuselage bands ... ie the 2nd Chutai may have had the emblem and band in red, while the third would have them in another colour.
- Shotai (flight) would be shown by the number of bands on the fuselage. In some cases this could be broken down further to show the individual place in the Shotai, if the band colour represented the shotai and not the Chutai

Individual aircraft would often be shown by numbers of Kana symbols worn on the tail. These are generalizations and there are almost as many exceptions to the rule as there are those that followed them.